Day 1: Sometimes you just have to kick up your heels and run.

I spent the past week at a place that I have enjoyed visiting since I was a little kid – my aunt’s farm. Despite growing up primarily in suburbia, I have always been a country girl at heart, and nothing feels more like home than a farmhouse surrounded by open fields and happy animals. It was over this week that I realized how much I truly enjoy photographing animals, especially animals in motion. Something about an animal’s spirit, free and untamed even if only for a second, speaks to me.

Day 1: Diesel the thoroughbred.

So with that realization, I’ve decided to embark on Project 365. For the next year, I’m going to try my darnedest to share a picture a day. And because I do everything in life better with a deadline in mind, I am hoping that this project will help refocus Live, Bark, Love! What deadline, you ask? On May 15, 2013, I will be finished with my occupational therapy classes and ready to embark on my final fieldwork placements. I’m hoping that this project will not only refresh this blog, but help me keep my eyes on the destination and yet help me live in the moment and enjoy the journey to get there, much like the countdown to graduation photo project did last year. I hope that you all will take this trip with me and enjoy the photos and stories along the way! 🙂 Kas

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in 365 Project, Horses and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is very exciting — I’ve always loved your photos and agree that ones in motion are great to witness. I look forward to seeing something every day from you!

  2. What a great idea! We share the “country girl spirit” – I, too, grew up in suburbia and spent some summer weeks each year at my aunt’s farm in the midwest. I *loved* the wide open spaces and everything that came along with them. My dream growing up was to move to Montana and live on a farm there, but alas, that was not to be. I came as close as I could when we bought a house on a large piece of property in a town filled with horse, corn, and soy farms, but developers discovered it and now it’s just another suburban town. I still dream that Montana dream from time to time and imagine how different my life would have been. 🙂

    Aside from my long-winded reply, I’m very much looking forward to your photos! I’m sure each one will take me back to my original dream and give me a few dreamy moments every day. 🙂

  3. I like the idea of challenging yourself. If nothing else it gets your mind thinking along other lines! Can’t wait to take the ride with you. 🙂

  4. – i just love the lighting and that ctynoruside’ feel to your pictures! it makes me want to live there! and those pictures look like they belong in an anthropologie’ catalogue!

Leave a Reply

