Training Tip Thursday: Building a Reliable Recall – Tip #4

Only recall your dog when you are absolutely certain that he will come to you.

Why?  You always want to set your dog up for success.  Do not give your dog the chance or option to fail — any time that he ignores and/or chooses not to respond to a command, that command and it’s meaning are devalued.

If you know that your dog would rather chase a squirrel than come to you when called, do not recall him.  Either go to him and retrieve him or wait until he has had his fun, has calmed down, and is focused back on you and then recall him.  The secret to a reliable recall is successful repetition, so do everything on your end to help your dog succeed.

Happy training!!

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Training Tip Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Good tip. I will try to keep that in mind more. I have had a couple of instances lately in our back yard when I recalled them and they didn’t come. It did kind of feel like the potential start to a bad habit for them…ignoring me.

  2. Great advice KAs,

    I think my Mum may have to wait a while if I’m Squirrel chasing though!! 🙂

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Wow thats what I’m doing aleardy Glad I saw this video of yours! I know what I’m doing is right DShe’s still a puppy still new to leash walking. She tends to cry a lot. :I

  3. This is great advice, but so very difficult to remember when you really want her to come to you. There are times that I know it’s useless to call her, and in those cases, I don’t. But I will endeavor to do better to go to her when “it’s on the edge”! Thanks, Kas.

  4. Great tips. You just do have to go get them sometimes!

  5. Very good advice! I think recall can be one of the most difficult training concepts for people to convey to their pups, but SO important!

Leave a Reply

