Now introducing …

Remember way back in the beginnings of this blog when I introduced Evee’s beau, Cinco?  Well I have a confession to make …

Cinco is ours.  I decided that it was finally time to break the news to you all, mainly because Cinco was peeved that he was being treated like the black sheep of the family when it came to this blog, and gosh darn it, he wanted his cute mug posted every once in a while too (and not just as a background extra, for crying out loud).  I apologize for keeping Cinco under wraps for so long, but in order for me to spill the beans, a) we had to come to the realization that Cinco was no longer just a foster dog, b) my parents had to come to the realization that Cinco was no longer just a foster dog, and c) well, yea … it was mainly just about my parents finding out the truth behind the little man.  Sure I’m an adult (I think), but I still rely on my parents here and there as I am still a poor student.  But anyway, here’s the story behind Cinco!

Cinco at 7-weeks-old.

Evee with Cinco at 8-weeks-old.

In the summer of 2010, I was heavily involved in animal rescue.  I helped rescue an emaciated, pregnant cat and later helped deliver her 6 kittens, fostered 7 puppies, and volunteered at the local animal shelter.  I managed to find wonderful homes for all 7 felines and all but one of the canines … Cinco, a black and tan Miniature Pinscher puppy.  Out of all the animals that I worked with that summer, Cinco came to me in the worst condition.  He had a laceration on his neck, some sort of adhesive material stuck in his ear canals, had the worst case of round worms I had ever seen, and had bald spots and severely dry skin that was attributed to poor nutrition and diet.  But despite the fact that he was in bad shape, from day 1 Cinco was trusting, loving, and bright-eyed.  He was one of those dogs that knew that he was rescued, and boy was he thankful for it.

Cinco instantly bonded with Evee and to this day rarely leaves her side.  A true Min-Pin, Cinco thinks he owns the place — he’s tenacious, proud, outgoing, outspoken, spirited, and fearless.  His athleticism amazes us on a daily basis – he is incredibly fast, turns on a dime, and can jump higher and farther than any little dog I have ever seen.  He easily holds his own with the big dogs, and in agility class, he shows that little dogs can play just as well (if not better!) than the big guys.

Over-jumping just a little bit lol.

He loves the A-frame and has beautiful 2o2o contacts!

What’s the story behind Cinco’s name?  Well, when I first took him in, Cinco was tiny.  At his first vet appointment, he weighed in right around 1.5-pounds!!  A few of my friends jokingly suggested the name “Cinco”, noting that he would be lucky if he ever reached 5 pounds.  The name stuck, and even though Cinco is now full-grown at 12-pounds, his name reminds us of his beginnings.  And as some people have pointed out, Cinco, meaning “five” in Spanish, fits perfectly as he is our 5th dog!

Cinco is also Bailey's little partner in crime.

  • Name: Cinco
  • Nicknames: Cinc, Cee, Cee-no, Oh-nee, Batman, Stinko, Shrinky-Dink
  • Ears: natural – often pricked, but occasionally half-floppy
  • Tail: natural, and always wagging
  • Birthday: June 13, 2010
  • Likes: Evee, jumping, barking, prancing around like he owns the place, burrowing under anything potentially warm, food of any kind, playing agility, anything with a squeaker, riding in the car, chasing leaves and butterflies, looking out the window, acting like a cat
  • Dislikes: sitting still, waiting patiently, wearing sweaters, being quiet
  • Favorite Trick: walking on his hind legs
  • Favorite TV show: Terra Nova (he just loves growling at those dinosaurs)
  • Favorite song: Cupid Shuffle (it’s his jam)

Did I want or need a 5th dog?  Um, no.  But would I go back in time and change my decision of keeping him?  Not ever.

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Agility, Cinco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 52 Comments.

  1. awww he’s a real sweetie

  2. Well I think it’s a wonderful thing you did to keep Cinco even though you already had 4 other dogs. And what a difference in him from his picture at 7 weeks old to his current pictures – he’s SO much happier looking!

    I’m disgusted at the previous owners, though, who had to be horribly abusive and neglectful for the poor puppy to be in such bad condition. Cinco is so lucky that he found such a wonderfully loving home.

    The pics are all great, but I especially love the one of him “over-jumping” while looking so happily into the camera! That says it all! Bless you for keeping him and turning his life around. 🙂

    • Loved your comment … He sure is quite the happy little guy. He’s never sad, scared, mad, whatever — he’s a little bundle of joy to have around and even though it may not have been the best or wisest decision, boy am I glad that we kept him and made him a permanent part of the family!!

  3. Love the min pins! From the pics I can see you didn’t stand a chance when deciding to adopt – so adorable!

  4. What a cute pooch!! How could you not love that face and personality.

  5. It’s so nice to officially meet Cinco!!

    So happy he was lucky to find you guys and that you were able to keep him – how could you not fall in love with him?! 🙂

    Have a fun weekend, ALL of you 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  6. What a little man! You must be so happy and proud to have Cinco.

  7. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    Awwwwwww, Cinco you are adorable and we are so happy we will be seeing more of you now. Hugs and nose kisses

  8. Cisco, I mean Cinco, finally gets his day. Great pic on the jump. His vertical leap is amazing for such a small chihuahua, I mean min pin.

  9. Cinco is such a cutie! I’m so happy you decided to keep him!! Our last foster, Chelsea, is also now a permanent resident 🙂

  10. We’re so happy that Cinco makes 5!!! He looks like a real sweetie!

  11. So precious. This post just made me smile all the way through.

  12. Oh Dog, I don’t feel so bad about our family now. Congrats!!!!

  13. Five dogs (8 pets overall) is the perfect number if you ask us, we are five dogs and 3 cats

  14. What a cute little guy! Bless you for being so involved in rescue!!! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

  15. Congrats on your newest family member! He sure is cute. Beautiful pictures with this post too!

  16. This is such a wonderful surprise that you’ve been keeping from us! Cinco looks like he fits right into your pack and I bet he’s loving every minute of it. Your rescue story has made my day 😀

  17. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    We’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. If you wish to accept it please stop by our blog to copy and paste the award to your blog. Hugs and nose kisses

  18. Cinco is adorable; every picture was better than the next in revealing his personality! He looks like a real charmer. Your introduction of him was so informative — it was fun to get to know him so thoroughly. Really funny how you’ve been keeping him under wraps, so to speak. Looks like he knows he is officially part of the family now! Enjoy — and good for you for keeping him.

  19. Hes so cute!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    dogisgodinreverse.com

  20. Congratulations on Cinco. I love the name and he is an adorable little guy.

  21. Congratulations on your new addition, Kas. He is absolutely adorable, a real smasher…And, as the owner of a bat-eared dog, I think his ears are gorgeus and absolutely perfect 🙂

  22. I am not sure I remember you talking about Cinco but he is super cute. Glad he could finally come out of the closet 🙂

  23. I am not sure I remember you talking about Cinco but he sure is cute. Glad you can finally share him with us.

    It appears that I am still ending up in your spam. My comment disappears into spamland when I post it under my regular profile. I have to use an old email and another URL to get through. If you could kindly mark us as not spam we will stop having problems. Thanks.

    • I am so glad that I finally let the Cinco out of the bag! 🙂

      And I will double-check on your comments and hopefully stop them from landing in spam world — we love hearing from you!

  24. what a sweet story! i noticed one of cinco’s likes ‘acting like a cat’. both my schnauzers like acting like cats. yuki likes jumping on parts of furniture only a cat should-she even has the meowing and rocket likes to rub his body against my legs like the way cats do.

    ♥yuki and rocket

    • Thanks, Yuki and Rocket! And that’s exactly what Cinco does — he sits on the back of the couch like a cat and stares out the window! What funny dogs. 🙂

  25. He’s adorable. Glad you decided to add him to your family. Can’ wait to hear more. He kinds reminds me of my little brother when he was a puppy!

    • Thanks, Twiggy! We sure are glad that we decided to officially adopt him. There will definitely be a lot more Cinco pictures now, and your brother must be a cutie! 🙂

  26. I know the feeling….I had to wait until my mom passed away to get our pups!!

    • Haha! Thankfully my parents love dogs (they have a Bichon now and we had a GSD growing up), they just question the notion of “having so many dogs”!

Leave a Reply

