Our first big RAW feeding experience!

Today we decided to finally brave up and let the dogs have their first big try at raw meaty bones.  We have had some beef shank bones stored in the freezer for some time but up until today, I had always chickened out every time I considered giving them to the pups (mainly because handling raw meat somewhat wigs me out, especially after having done one too many cadaver labs this semester …).  But anyway, we gave each of the pups a mostly defrosted bone in his/her empty crate for a supervised 30-minute chew session.

The results?  The pups loved them!  It was very interesting to watch their initial reactions and their plans of attack for the bone.  Bailey seemed perplexed at first, but then quickly caught on and went to town.  Evee thought she must have won the lottery and was gung-ho about that magic piece of cow from start to finish.  Kylie’s eyes widened as soon as she took her first taste and she ended up finishing more marrow than anybody else.  And Diesel was so thrilled that his tail was thumping the sides of his crate for nearly the entire half an hour.

After 30 minutes, we took the bones up and put them back in the freezer to save for another chew session or two.  No one had any digestive upset and I am happy to say that everyone had either normal or only slightly softer stools the next day.  We plan to let the pups have raw meaty bones twice a week as a healthy treat to help clean and strengthen their teeth and gums.  And if you are interested in adding raw meaty bones to your pup’s diet, My Little Dog has a fantastic BARF diet guide which helped me take the plunge and finally try raw (and boy are the pups glad I did!).

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Bailey, Diesel, Doggie Recipes, Evee, Kylie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Cool! I started feeding Sienna raw about a year ago. She is thriving on the raw diet. I started with bones which she loved but I have to be present when she eats them as she eats it all the way down and I don’t want her to swallow a piece that is too big. I was also feeding her marrow bones which she loved but I think that contributed to her weight gain so I had to stop and she has slowly lost the 5 lbs. Now I feed her either Stella and Chewy’s raw patties or Instinct raw patties as they include everything and I don’t have to worry. I know she misses the raw bones and I may start buying her some again soon. She also loved the raw buffalo rib bones.. They are the perfect size for a small dog

  2. Great post, love the pics the pups sure look happy!! We’ve been feeding all of ours raw bones since they were little and they love them. Very smart of you to keep an eye on them while they’re chowing down 🙂
    If you like natural diets, I have a few fun recipes on my site under the wellness tab…my dogs approve them all! Our homemade dog food recipe is great and can be done completely raw, cooked, or a mixture of both.
    This post has reminded me to go out and get some bones for my pups– it’s been more a few weeks since they’ve had them. Have a good weekend!

  3. It looks like they really enjoyed them. 🙂

  4. We just started a raw diet with Lilly. She was having some skin and eye issues and thought we would try the raw food diet. She actually loves it and her issues are already improving. We also use Stella and Chewy’s raw patties. Eventually we will be giving Abbie the diet as well. They also both love marrow bones. Such a treat for them.

  5. Looks like you all are enjoying those a lot. Hugs and nose kisses

  6. This is so interesting. Their reactions strike me as if the raw bones/meat were almost familiar to their canine natures, and they took to them right away. So cool!

  7. We have been feeding raw for a while, though we don’t give them raw as a snack (I do Kongs for that) they eat necks in the morning and ground raw (meat, organs, bones) at night.

    The woman we are working with for their dietary needs said just feed it, no need to ease them into it like kibble.

    Both dogs absolutely LOVE the food, their teeth are nice and clean and together they have lost over 50 pounds!

    Even though it is costly, the vet told us we have probably added two to three years to their lives. 🙂

    I’m glad your first venture was successful!

  8. My dogs are so jealous right now!

  9. My friend has actually fed her two Dachshunds a whole, raw game hen (they are on a raw diet). Raw chicken bones aren’t supposed to splinter. I like the idea but when I fed Chester and Gretel drumsticks, the bones did splinter so I am not sure what I did wrong. I took them away right away but was afraid they had swallowed little pieces. Talk about freakout 🙂

    I feed them raw, meaty beef bones from time to time and they love them. I am not surprised your dogs did too.

  10. My comments on WordPress blogs have started going to spam for some reason. I think my comment just did that here so here it goes again. Sorry for the repeat.

    My friend has actually fed her two Doxies a whole, raw game hen (they are on a raw diet). Raw chicken bones aren’t supposed to splinter. I like the idea but when I fed Chester and Gretel drumsticks, the bones did splinter so I am not sure what I did wrong. I took them away right away but was afraid they had swallowed little pieces. Talk about freakout 🙂

    I feed them raw, meaty beef bones from time to time and they love them. I am not surprised your dogs did too. When they are frozen like that the bones last a whole lot longer.

  11. Congratulations on moving over to the RAW side. 🙂 However, and I’m sorry, it is not generally recommended to feed large ungulate femur bones (such as beef, deer, etc) as the bone is so dense it can shatter the dog’s teeth. Any other bone is okay! Just avoid the large ungulate femurs. (You can feed any other part of beef and deer, and you can feed femurs from lamb and pig.)

  12. Good on you for pulling up the courage to give raw bones a try with your pups! The first time is always a little nerve-wrecking. But once you see those eyes light up, there’s no turning back!

  13. cool story bro

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About [get Your Dog To Eat]

Leave a Reply

