Training Tip Thursday: Building a Reliable Recall – Tip #2

Recall Tip #2: Never call your dog to you for something that he does not want to do, such as clipping nails.

Why?  You want your dog to learn that good things happen when he comes to you.  If at times you call your dog to you in order to do unpleasant things that he does not enjoy doing, he is going to think, “Hmmm … if I go to her this time, am I going to get a yummy piece of cheese or is she going to stick me in the bathtub and give me a dreaded bath?”  If you have to do something that your dog does not want to do, simply go put a leash on him or pick him up (and don’t say anything to him).  The key with building a reliable recall is teaching the dog that coming when called results in good things, that coming when called reaps valuable rewards.  Stay tuned for next week’s tip!  🙂

"Wahoo! Coming when called is fun!"

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Training Tip Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Another great tip, and one we humans do (with our kids and fur kids) all too often!

  2. Oops….we broke that rule….we call Daisy in for bathtime. Thanks so much for this info, we’re using your tips to try to get Daisy to obey the “come” command, the one thing she refuses to do. Maybe this one is the key…?

    • You’re more than welcome! Hope it helps. I used to (and sometimes still do if I don’t catch myself) call Evee over to be brushed, which she doesn’t like. Every time we do something like that, it decreases the chance that she will come quickly and willingly the next time around!

  3. Great tips…I know that I am guilty of calling when both a pleasant and unpleasant (in furry perspective) situations.

  4. This is a great tip!! You really are thinking like a Dog – that’s exactly what I’d be thinking – chase the Squirrel or get something good from Mum?

    Wags to all,

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  5. Great tip to teach puppies recall. Got to admit though “come” is not a request in our house. Disobey the come command and its back to school.

    • I imagine that your two have some of the best recalls out there … would love to hear some of your tips on how you build such reliable recalls!

  6. Hmmm…I never noticed if I do that. I know when I clip the dog’s nails I just go over and pick them up. There is usually some kind of “no” involved as they try to run away though 🙂

    • None of our dogs enjoy having their nails clipped … while it’s easier with some of them, we’re working on making it a less dreadful task!

  7. I think my dogs need a refresher on this one. Come to think of it, I may try it on my daughter. She could use a lesson in recall too!

  8. Great post and I love the action shot!

Leave a Reply

