And the answer is …

Sinking Creek

Yesterday I accompanied 70 5th graders on a field trip to a local park and played classroom photographer for the day.  These students had spent time learning about topics such as water conservation, environmental restoration, the fish life cycle, and even fly-fishing (which I’ve come to learn is a cross-curricular subject and a wonderful lifetime activity).  For a hands-on activity, these students hatched and raised close to 100 rainbow trout.  Which brings us to the activity in yesterday’s picture — yesterday was the long-awaited fingerling trout release into a local stocked trout stream (congrats, Jack, for guessing correctly!).  The kids had a blast and it was neat to see the different reactions amongst them … most had names for their baby fish and you could see how proud the kids were to introduce their well loved ‘pet’ into the wild.  Here are some pictures from yesterday’s fun, fishy event.  Tomorrow we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled doggie days!

"Goodbye, Carl and Jessica!"

The trout's beautiful new abode.

A local stream resident, a crawfish, caught in a drift net (and later released).

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Oh, well, at least I came close. I might have guessed it was trout, if I could enlarge the photo and see the fish properly. Shame it’s a public stream, and not your own posh pond 😛
    Carl and Jessica??? LOL
    Lovely photos, can’t blame the kids for having a blast. I wish I was there…x

    • You were definitely close! And I wish that I had my own pond … hopefully one day!!

      Most of the kids named the fish after themselves (although you know how I love naming animals after people lol).

  2. These kids had to learn so much from this activity! What an adventure in learning. Kids seem to retain so much more when they are involved in the learning process rather than watching it go by in a textbook. : )

  3. Yay for trout! Sounds like a fun outing.

    Also, I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award because I enjoy your blog!

    Check out more info here: http://2browndawgs.com/2011/06/10/4063/

  4. Very nice, it is wonderful that you could participate!

  5. What a great school project!

    Our temps have been so hot lately that I just want to dip my feet into that cool-looking, shady stream water!

    • After the baby trout had swam safely downstream, the kids were happily cooling off and playing in the water (and I wish that I could have joined them!).

  6. Is it bad that I really want some trout now?

  7. What a fun day and so bright and sunny! I think you are incredibly brave to go out with that many fifth graders. I hope they didn’t give you that hard of a time!

    Thanks for sharing the great photos. 🙂

  8. That’s so cute that they named the fishies !

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  9. Mumsy and Chancy

    What beautiful, clear water. I bet you all had fun.

Leave a Reply

