Tired puppies = Happy puppies.

... Dreaming of sheep and frisbees.

I know I say this often, but tired pups are happy pups.  This is especially the case with Kylie and Diesel — if they aren’t tired, both physically and mentally, then they aren’t happy which in turn makes me unhappy.  As you can tell from the photo, they are both tired and happy this evening.  We went to two different dog parks today (one of which we had all to ourselves for 30-minutes), practiced some disc dog moves in the backyard (mainly I’m trying to improve my current horrendous frisbee throwing ability), and almost finished learning an original new trick (video to come soon).  Phew!  I’m tired just typing all of that.  I’m about to hit the hay as well … Hope that you all have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend if I don’t talk to you all sooner!   🙂

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Diesel, Kylie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. It’s a great feeling when the whole family returns home knackered but with smiles on their faces! Our little Maple has so much energy for a pint-sized dogster. Even after spending a whole afternoon in the park running and playing ball, Maple will come home still wanting us to chase her around the coffee table. But when she finally gets doggone tired, she is the happiest pup in the world. And, yes, that makes us very happy as well 😉

  2. I can’t imagine what it’s like having one high energy dog, let alone two (plus Bailey and Evee)! Oscar’s so laid-back and lazy he’s content just sunning in the front yard and sleeping. When he doesn’t want to adventure deeper into the neighborhood during our walks, he’ll put on the brakes and refuse to move until I turn toward home!

    • Thankfully Evee and Bailey are so mellow and laid-back, otherwise things might indeed be a little crazy at our house. I can’t even imagine what it’s like for the people that have 5+ herding or working dogs. Our pack is easier to manage than it probably seems — Diesel and Kylie keep themselves occupied for the most part by wrestling and playing games like tug. BUT, Aussies are very high-energy dogs that need much more physical and mental stimulation than the average housepet, so with that being said, we really do have to keep them exercised and mentally stimulated by training them new tricks and playing dog sports. Not to say that Evee and Bailey do not need or enjoy the same physical and mental exercise, they just will not punish us as badly if they do not get their daily fill LOL! 🙂

  3. Oh boy,

    Being tired and worn out is my favourite feeling, cos that means I’ve had loadsa fun, I think it’s Mum’s mission each day to wear me out! We usually start off with a run in the morning, it’s getting both me and Mum really fit, then if I also have a play date, boy am I pooped!! 🙂 Of course I still reserve a little energy to give Dad a big hug when he comes home! 🙂

    Hope you have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  4. Those two are precious. Grace loves her “walks” in the woods (she’s always running out there versus walking!) and it is nice when we all come home tired. We have a few of those walks planned for this holiday weekend. Have fun everyone!

    • They are definitely attached at the hip, that’s for sure. Hope you and Grace had a fantastic weekend and enjoyed your walks and playtime in the woods!

  5. I can’t seem to tire my two out! 🙂

  6. Awe cute! I agree tired dawgs are happy dawgs!

  7. Have a great weekend with the tired pups. Those dogs have the life!

  8. They look very peaceful and happy snoozing along in their crate – which looks very comfy and inviting, I have to say! I can’t blame you for being tired, with that gang of little rascals. I bet every day is like training for the Olympics.
    Have a nice, quiet and lazy weekend 🙂

    • They love their crates. My friends are always surprised at how often they go in there on their own. Hope that you had a nice weekend with some fun activity and lazy downtime 🙂

  9. I agree I love it when we’re all tired from an active day outdoors – it’s what I call a “good kind of tired”. The dogs look so sweet snoozing in their crate! Have a great weekend!

  10. Your dogs are just so freaking cute! I love Diesel’s markings.

    We are full believers in the statement that a tired dog is a good dog. Nothing feels quite as good as accomplishing such a feat. 🙂

    • Thank you!!! I adore Diesel’s color/markings — he even has a heart on his left side! And tired pups make for happy, sometimes tired owners (from trying to keep up with our athletic canine counterparts!).

  11. Mumsy and Chancy

    Sweet picture of tired doggies. Have a wonderful, fun and safe weekend. Hugs and nose kisses

  12. The look so content…and that is such a good feeling to have. Miss Stella and Sadie are the same. Lots of energy unspent does not make for a happy pup.
    I just wanted to let you know that you are a Genuine Blogger. Celebrate your blog, as it is comes across to the reader as heartfelt and genuine. There are no rules with this honor. Accept it and relish in the thought that your blog is “award worthy” without having any strings attached. If you choose to give this award to a deserving fellow blogger, please do so with no “rules.” Award it to someone for his or her genuineness in blogging. Free and clear.
    Just Ramblin’

  13. I love seeing sleeping animals … they look so cute and adorable.

    You won’t believe how many sleeping pictures Kame and Kroten have 😉

  14. Sweet picture. I often wonder what they dream about. Liver treats perhaps?

    Sienna and I did a 4 mile round trip walk today which included 5 hills on the way back. She started out walking ahead of me and by the end of the walk she was a few steps behind. I thought she’d take a nap immediately when we got home but she wanted to play with her ball and has been chewing on her rawhide for the last hour. I think when I am home with her she is reluctant to nap unless I do. Fortunately I work during the week and she gets to catch up on her rest

    • I bet they dream of frisbees and fleecy sheep heels and probably some yummy treats like you mentioned 🙂

      Sounds like you and Sienna had a fun, active day and that’s funny that she seemed refreshed and wanted to play by the time you got back home. Pups are amazing … our guys also often act like they haven’t exercised all day once we get back from a day-hike — it’s like they re-energize on the ride home!

  15. Well I guess it caught up with her because she is sound asleep right now but she will wake up instantly if she hears me go in the kitchen LOL

  16. I couldn’t agree more with your post title. I absolutely love it when we’ve exercised Gus enough that he’s totally exhausted by the time we get home. It makes me feel like we’ve done our job as dog parents. 🙂

    That is such a sweet photo of Kylie and Diesel.

Leave a Reply

