So … what’s next?

Now that I am a college graduate, my life as I knew it and the photo project that my blog revolved around have come to an end.  This brings up the question, what’s next?  What am I doing with my life?  Your guess is as good as mine at this point.  Please let me know if you have some answers for me (or a job offer *wink, wink*).  What am I doing with this blog?  Many bigger and brighter things!  Some ideas so far include: trick training tutorial videos; tips for solving problem behavior; dog-friendly outdoor adventure reviews (such as hikes and campsites); our tales of training and competing in dog sports; and new journeys in cooking (I’m trying to expand my current menu for both the humans and canines of the family).  And of course, there will be many photos and videos along the way, especially now that my equipment has undergone a major upgrade!

So, what do you think?  Do any of these topics stick out to you?  Anything you’d like to see that I didn’t mention?

And one photo today taken with the new DSLR (click on the photo to view the higher-quality version) — this photo is straight from the camera, no post-processing.  Check back tomorrow for a big post of the initial results with the new toy 🙂

Bailey the photogenic pup.

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Bailey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I like the idea of dog training tips and the like. I can think of tons of topic ideas I’d like to know more about for my canines. It seems like my dogs do something nutty every day. I’m sure you’ll have no shortage of writing ideas. By the way, if you want a guest post, my dogs would be happy to share some of our training tips 🙂 By the way, thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I’m honored. I will be updating mine shortly and will let you know when you’re up as well.

    • A guest post would be awesome! 🙂 Today’s post is just going to have photos (although unfortunately it’s been raining here for the past 5 days and it’s supposed to rain for the next 5 days — so all of our pictures have been inside). But I have some neat ideas in the works for tomorrow’s post. And of course you were added to our blogroll – we love your blog and your taquitos are on our favorites list now!

  2. Hmm, something looks a little different around here… Could it be a new WP theme? Great choice on the layout! With four active canines under your care, I think you’ll never run out of interesting material to share with your readers. Add to that a new camera and you’re all set!

    • Thanks! I really like this layout and especially the new header (although my mom says that Evee looks “grungy” in her picture — poor neglected Bichon). Check back for lots of pictures with the new camera today 🙂

  3. Nice picture! Can’t wait to see and hear more!

  4. Great picture! Bailey looks like a seasoned model! I’d love to read more about your outdoor adventures, dog sports competitions, and canine baking in particular. But I’m sure whatever you post about will be interesting – it always is! 🙂

    BTW, I forgot to mention on your last post that I LOVE your creative graduation hat!!

    • Bailey is definitely our most photogenic dog — he loves to ham it up for the camera! Since trick training tutorials or articles on anything training-related will take some time and effort, I will focus more on our outdoor adventures, dog sports, and canine recipes. I hope that you all stick around and like the new material. And thanks!! My sisters made the decorations on my graduation cap, although I made them change it from their original design (it said “Thank you” their names lol).

  5. I love when dogs cross their paws like that. I’m not sure what your major was, but this would be a great thing to discuss in an interview. Businesses want people who use social media successfully (well a lot do) and the idea of training dogs has to be some sort of metaphor. As for the blog, I have two mutts who don’t know tricks, so I just love looking at the pictures and whatever else you post featuring the dogs.

    • Bailey always crosses his paws like that – I’m not sure why, but it’s cute! My major was human and biological sciences, so nothing really to do with business or advertising, but I will mention it in interviews from now on (thanks for the advice!). And there will be many more pictures of the dogs – you can count on that! 🙂

  6. I love the picture. I would like to see some training tips and also tips for behavioral issues as well, or cooking I like cooking too! I had the hardest time deciding what theme to use for my blog, so I totally get where you are coming from.

    • Thank you! I am not sure how often I’ll focus on training tips/advice, but it will definitely come up every so often (hopefully 1x/week). Cooking will definitely be blogged about as well — I hope to try many more delicious recipes from Leah’s Thoughts and (Rufus’ Guide).

  7. lifewith4cats

    I vote for all the things you mentioned. But the idea of doing dog friendly park reviews, sounds like it would be new and unique content for sure.

  8. Can’t believe I almost missed this post!

    All of your ideas sound wonderful—Oscar and I are especially interested in your recipes for pups. I’d also love to read more about your adventures in dog sports and competitions. Since we don’t have much experience in the world of doggie sports, the posts would be quite the education.

    Oscar also requests more pictures of Evee, please. 😉

    • There will definitely be lots of dog sports posts, if the rain ever decides to quit!! I have “The Healthy Dog Cookbook” so I’m hoping to try more recipes in that and I’ll post my results. And of course, there will be more pictures of Evee for Mr. Oscar 🙂

  9. You can’t go wrong with any of your ideas. If it feels right and exciting to you, we’ll love it. You’ve hit on so many interesting topics — dogs, training, food…. I’ll be looking out for everything!

  10. They all sound like wonderful ideas! Although, I’m definitely partial to dog friendly travel reviews. I love reading about how people get out and exercise with their doggers!

  11. That’s a great photo. I used a high-end point and shoot for years but my digital SLR takes crisper images and I love that it can stop motion. Awesome you got one for graduation.

    As far as your blog goes, those are all great ideas. I would just start off on the direction that seems most fun. You can tweak it as you go along.

    • Thank you! It will definitely take me a while to get the hang of it, but I hope to get some decent photos along the way. I can’t wait until it stops raining so that I can go outside and take some action shots!

  12. That sure is such a great pic of Bailey!!

    I’m just glad you’re gonna keep doing the blog, cos I love visiting, lots more pics is good with me – Mum says Dog training tips are cool with her 🙂

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  13. Love reading your blog, upbeat, loving, full of life, well versed and supported with great photos and videos. This world needs many more like you. You should have no problem finding a fulfilling job. You have all the attributes that every business wants and needs. My wife and I will continue to follow your blog its much better than TV!

    Cowboy 24

    • Thank you so very much for your kind, supportive words. I really appreciate it and I hope that you continue to enjoy my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

