The Great Graduation Post

Can you guess which one is me? Justin?

Graduation was great!  It was something that I had always looked forward to and it definitely lived up to my expectations.  On Friday (5/13/11) we had the university commencement ceremony at Lane Stadium, the Hokies’ football stadium.  The feeling of walking on that beloved football field as a soon-to-be graduate felt absolutely awesome.  Unfortunately the ceremony itself was greatly condensed due to severe thunderstorms – it actually started pouring during the commencement speech.  But, I guess no one will ever forget our graduation and how everyone, students and audience members alike, rushed out of their seats to take cover from the storm.  My family and I celebrated after the university ceremony with dinner at “El Gran Rodeo” in Christiansburg, one of our favorite local Mexican restaurants.  The next morning (5/14/11) was my college commencement ceremony where I actually received my diploma.  A speech was given by a 2003 VT grad and she really gave me a glimpse into what the future can hold for me.  After this ceremony, we took a zillion family pictures all over campus (as did every other graduate).  We celebrated again with lunch at “The Great 611 Steak Company” in Roanoke which had to-die-for baked potatoes and surprisingly good steaks.  And then later that day, Justin and I celebrated with close friends and fellow graduates.  All in all, it was a wonderful graduation!  Next up, learning how to be a grown-up.  🙂

Justin modeling my graduation cap. Special thanks to my extraordinary parents for their unwavering support throughout my 4-years of college!


Normally I watch instant-replays on this jumbotron, but today it featured our commencement speaker. Can you see the sky of doom in the background?


Justin and me in front of Torgersen Bridge on ALUMNI Mall.

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 15, 2011, in Countdown Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Congratulations!

    Graduating is such a great feeling 🙂

  2. Hey congrats! Did you get a new header or do I just have a bad memory? If you did I love it. If you didn’t carry on…

  3. ConGRADulations Hokies! We were especially proud of your Dean’s List cord for 5 consecutive semesters! I also like how you and Justin managed to pick colleges with tassel colors perfectly coordinated to VT’s orange and maroon 🙂

  4. Once again, congratulations! That particular word has been used so many times the past two weeks, but it’s the perfect word to express our happiness for you. 🙂

    BTW, love the new layout.

    • Thank you!! I truly appreciate all of your kind words throughout the past few weeks. And I’m glad that you like the new layout!

  5. Congratulations on your graduation. What an accomplishment! And LOVE your new header and blog design.

  6. Oh my, the sky of doom does look ominous! But otherwise beautiful pictures. Congratulations again on your graduation. Sounds like quite a celebration!

    I love the new theme and your new header!

  7. lifewith4cats

    I am happy for you, that you are making such lovely memories. And look, I see your blog has graduated too? Its got a new gown on.

  8. Congratulations again. TWO commencement ceremonies? I barely made it through the one I wanted to get out of there so fast. Sounds like yours was more fun though. Our speaker got the college president’s name wrong if that gives you any indication 🙂

  9. Congratulations! Great photos – you look so happy! This takes me back 2 years ago to my daughter’s graduation – such a moving experience for us. Great post! 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh, how could I have missed this post! Whew, good thing I checked back on your blog today. Hopefully it’s not too late to congratulate you. Loving your graduation cap 😀

  11. Somehow I missed this post, too! Love the pictures of the campus — and seeing how happy you look. Congratulations on this great achievement, Kas! Very exciting. Did the pups get to attend any of the celebrations? 🙂

    • Thank you!! I think I may have clicked “draft” instead of “submit” and that’s why people may have missed the post initially. And the pups definitely celebrated with us when we got home (they certainly enjoyed their portions of the celebration food!).

  12. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! What an absolutely great feeling. I felt on top of the world when graduation finally rolled around.

    I LOVE the graduation cap!

Leave a Reply

