11 Days: Focus, people, focus!

Evee is going to ace her exam.

Tomorrow is my very last undergraduate class ever.  I don’t know if it’s because I am running on little sleep or if reality is finally starting to sink in, but I am panicking!  Do I really graduate next week?  Didn’t I just get here?  Where did those 4 years go?  Do the “Attention Graduating Seniors” emails really apply to me?  Do I actually have to grow up now?  I don’t even know how to file my taxes!  PANIC!  Breathe.  Back in high school, one of my favorite people in the world always told my friends and me, “Focus, people, focus!” when it came to getting things done one step at a time.  That saying should be on a coffee mug.  Two more exams stand in between me and my diploma.  With my eye on the prize, it’s time to buckle down and study my tail off … grown-up life can wait until May 15th!

And on another note, today marks 1-month since I started blogging.  I am so glad that I started this blog – I look forward to writing these posts each day and it provides me with some comic relief (whether you find any of these pictures or quips entertaining is another story).  But anyway, thanks to everyone that reads and I am grateful for the like-minded blogging friends that I have made on here!  🙂

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Countdown Project, Evee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Hi there,

    It’s great to meet you – I’m glad you started your blog too, it’s cool!!

    Good luck with the graduation, woohoo!! I wish I was calm enough to pose for a pic with glasses on, or rather, I think Mum wishes I was calm enough and co-operative enough…..tee hee

    Your new pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting us, Snoopy! It’s great to meet you as well and I’m glad that you like our blog! And thanks for the graduation well-wishes 🙂

  2. Big day tomorrow, then, so best of luck for the future. It’s been a while since my graduation, but I can remember the feeling of excitement mixed with worry about having to grow up overnight, the future, etc. Don’t worry, you’ll get those tax files worked out. Eventually. Just kidding, you’ll be fine 😉

    And happy 1 month blogiversary! x

    • Thanks for the moral support 🙂 I just got home from campus – it still hasn’t hit me that it’s actually over! I think I’m in denial … And I can’t believe that it’s been one month since I started blogging. I’m so glad that I started this!

  3. You sound EXACTLY like my daughter – she felt the same pressure and the same disbelief just before her final exams and graduation. In fact, she loved her college but couldn’t wait to graduate in order to get into the “real world”….until the night before graduation, when she suddenly realized she’d be leaving a life of 4 years that she’d come to love. It was a very bittersweet time for her!

    • That’s exactly how I’ve been feeling for a couple of years now – I couldn’t wait to enter the real world. But now that graduation is upon me, I don’t feel quite ready! I love Virginia Tech and I know that I am going to miss it here – it’s definitely all so bittersweet.

  4. I know the feeling you’re describing perfectly. I was excited, nervous, scared, amazed (etc.) the last day of my undergraduate years, too. I’m hopeful things will turn out well for you. Congratulations and good luck getting into grad school! 😀

    What kind of textbook does Evee have in front of her? Looks like something biological anthropology-related.

    BTW, Oscar is totally digging those glasses on Evee! 😉

    • Thank you for the kind words! I’m having a flood of emotions, just like you’ve described. It’s all so serene! And Evee is studying my Anatomy & Physiology book – she wants to be a doctor. 😉 Tell Oscar to come on by!

  5. Yay for your upcoming last day!

    Serious props to you for being able to juggle school, the blog, your adorable doggers and all the regular life stuff!

  6. Well, at least I know that someone is focused enough to study. Sigh. You go Evee!

  7. Ahhhh, college. I remember having some of the same thoughts. It took me at least a year to figure out that it was awesome being able to do whatever I wanted with my time (outside of work of course) instead of having to stuey 15 hours a day.

  8. Lol… Evee looks so studious, as if she were the one with an impending exam to write! By the way, what course are you studying for? Like Oscar & Pauline, I’m also curious to know 😀 It looks like quite a massive textbook, but I’m sure you know the material from front cover to back. Happy studying… and blogging! After all, you need an occasional break from all that textbook reading, right? 😉

    • Evee’s studying A&P. It is a massive, information-packed textbook. Slightly daunting, but Evee feels that she can easily handle it haha! And of course – who doesn’t need an ‘occasional’ break from studying? 🙂

  9. Good luck on your last exams and congrats on graduation. Yes, the years fly by and they get faster as time goes on…

    🙂

  10. Great photo! Evee looks a tad nervous as she glances at that drawing in the textbook. Is it a skull? A dog skull? 🙂 Maybe that why looks concerned! Hope you ace the exam and enjoy these last few days. I’m glad to have met you via your blog, too! Go Hokies!

    • It’s a cross-section of a human skull, although a dog one would be more interesting! Evee wasn’t feeling too well yesterday so she wasn’t entirely thrilled when I made her pose for a picture … but I think it was worth it! Made me laugh, anyway. And thanks for the kind thoughts – I can’t believe that this is all coming to an end already. I am so glad to have met a fellow Hokie as well — GO HOKIES! 😀

  11. I love this photo – so cute!!! And I’m glad to have found your blog, too. And now you’ll have much more time to post, right? 😉

    • Thanks! Evee was not thrilled about it but I think it’s pretty cute/funny. And of course – now the blog will be my daily assignment 🙂

Leave a Reply

