12 Days: “Eyes are the window to the soul.”

Well, hello there!

I’ve been wanting to do this post for a while now.  I love eyes – people eyes, dog eyes, horse eyes, cat eyes, whatever.  When I used to be more actively involved with horses, I always heard, “Look for a horse with a kind eye.”  And being involved with animal rescue work, I’ve always been told, “Look into an animal’s eyes – you’ll see his soul.”  I think that eyes can tell a lot about someone, human or animal.

While the dogs weren’t entirely thrilled with having a camera shoved in their faces to get “glamour eye shots” today, I am pretty happy with the way that these pictures turned out.  Evee the puffball, who always has hair in her eyes, has very dark brown eyes.  Even in her older age, they are always expressive and bright.  Bailey has golden amber eyes.  I call him the Edward Cullen of the family due to his intriguing, captivating eyes (and yes, I am admittedly a Twilight fan, as sad as you may find that).  Diesel has medium dark brown eyes with light blue accents – his right eye is considered a partial blue and his left eye has a little bit of blue marbling with blue freckles.  Kylie has geometric split eyes, sometimes called merle eyes.  Her right eye is 3/4 ice blue and 1/4 amber and her left eye is 1/4 ice blue and 3/4 amber.  What’s neat is that her eyes are almost identical to one another, just with the blue and amber flip-flopped!

With that being said, what do you think?  Whose eyes are your favorite?

Evee

Bailey

Diesel

Kylie

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Bailey, Countdown Project, Diesel, Evee, Kylie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. The first photo brought an immediate smile to my face! The angle of the shot gives Diesel Wayne an entirely different look 🙂 I am partial to Kylie’s…her eyes have almost an avian look to them.

    • I really like that first picture of Diesel as well, and it was a complete accident – seems like those shots always come out the best! Kylie does have beautiful, unique eyes and I love the way that they are almost identical yet opposite.

  2. I love Bailey’s eyes. They look warm and remind me of honey. 🙂

  3. Great idea for a post. I’m an ‘eye’ person,too, and the eyes are the first thing I look at, both in humans and animals. If you read them right, you can learn a lot before the person/animal in front of you.
    Those photos of beautiful, doggy eyes are wonderful, thanks for sharing!

  4. All your dogs have beautiful eyes! There’s a certain mystique behind Evee’s eyes, perhaps accumulated through her years of doggie wisdom. Bailey’s eyes are tempting me to brew a cup of hot coffee, while Diesel’s eyes make me want to take a bite out of a chocolate bar. As for Kylie’s eyes, they remind me of s’mores. Hmm, I’m getting hungry now…

    • What awesome analogies! 🙂 I think that you hit their personalities dead on – Evee is quiet and insightful, Bailey is warm and welcoming, Diesel is nutty and caffeinated, and Kylie has flavorful layers of fun!

  5. Eye color in dogs (and the genetics involved) is so interesting. So much variety. I think the eye color suits each one of your dogs. (But you know I am partial to amber/yellow! 🙂 )

    • I love dog genetics, especially when it comes to genes that determine color. You’re right, the variety is endless! I agree with you that their eyes suit their personalities, and you can even see how they were feeling when I took the pictures (or how I got them to look at me!).

    • And I LOVE your dogs’ eyes – would love to see a close-up of them! 🙂

  6. All are beautiful, but the first and second ones have the softest looking eyes – that’s what I love. 🙂 I find that I can tell much more truth about a person from what I see in their eyes than what comes out of their mouths.

    • I love soft, kind eyes as well. I’ve always been very partial to Bailey’s eyes – they really reflect his soft, sweet nature. And you’re right about eyes over mouths – eyes can really say a lot about someone!

  7. Love Kylie’s the best myself – very intriguing, mysterious look, like an old soul.

  8. The descriptions here are just wonderful (especially from Happy.Bark.Days)! I think Bailey won me over as I love the contrast and peacefulness that I feel when I look at them. Very cool post!

  9. I’m here from the Blog Hop (a few days late, but I was out of town). I love eye photos too. You took great photos of your gang. They are all so beautiful!

  10. I really love Bailey’s brown eyes! You know instantly that Baily has a kind and loving soul!! Great post.

  11. Love dogs! You did a great post here!
    Love all them but the first eyes is my preferred… maybe because it remember me my so loved dog Flora…

Leave a Reply

