16 Days: Bad hair day???

Miss Evee B.

I started grooming Evee myself a few years ago.  At first I did it to save money – Bichons need to be fully groomed every couple of months and at $40+ a pop, it can really add up!  But after a while (mainly after I got the hang of clipping her legs and shaping her face), I really started to enjoy grooming Evee and started trying some different techniques and hair styles.  While I am far, far from a professional groomer, people have asked me where I get Evee groomed “because I need a place to take my dog”.  This makes me feel great and as a result, I groom a few dogs here and there for friends and friends of friends.

I also groom my parents’ Bichon, Callie, whenever I go to my parents’ house and see that Callie is in need of a haircut.  I have not been to my parents’ since January and as a result, poor Callie has apparently been looking like a wooly mammoth.  This morning, I get a text message from “Callie” saying, “Help me!  Mom gave me a haircut with the garden shears.”  My little sister told me that it looks like she has been through a garbage disposal.  I guess curly hair doesn’t hide every little mistake after all … 

Callie Bichon

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Countdown Project, Evee, Ridiculousness. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wow! Callie is famous! BTW, it is quite the hack job!

  2. “My little sister told me that it looks like she has been through a garbage disposal.” LOL! Poor thing…

    I always wonder how groomers get dogs to stay relatively still while they do their job. How do you get Evee to cooperate while you snip away?

    • Well I give Evee 13 Benadryl to knock her out and then I groom her. JUST KIDDING! 😛 I finagled a grooming table with a grooming arm which holds her fairly still. She is *somewhat* cooperative. Callie on the other hand will sit still all day and doesn’t need anything to hold her in place.

      • Haha – that was exactly the question I was going to ask. It’s hard for me to get Toki to even stay still while I brush her, let alone if I had scissors in my hand. A grooming table sounds like the way to go.

      • I would definitely recommend a grooming table – it makes things much easier and grooming much more efficient!

  3. She looks beautiful to me, I can’t see anything wrong. But then, I’m not a dog grooming expert, since George requires none 🙂

  4. Awe I think she is cute!

  5. LOL! I think she looks adorable anyway. I have to clip Daisy’s hair every 2-3 weeks, especially in summer, so there’s no way I could pay a groomer for that!

    • Evee should be clipped every month, but since it takes me a few hours to fully groom her, I try to prolong the time in between grooms. But grooming can definitely get expensive – I can’t imagine trying to pay for it every 2-3 weeks. Good thing you can groom her!

Leave a Reply

