23 Days: Enjoy the little things.

What good puppies.

The weather here the past couple of days has been invitingly nice – temps in the low 80s with lots of sunshine and a refreshingly cool breeze.  Because of this, the dogs and I have been living outside from when I come home from class/work to when the sun goes down.  As I went through today’s pictures, hoping to find a neat shot of the dogs bounding around, I came across this capture and it really stood out amongst the others.  It’s no action shot, but I really like it.  It’s the dogs in all of their candid greatness – Kylie and Diesel being the playful Aussie lovers that they are and Bailey, the patriarch of the pack, looking out onto the horizon.

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Bailey, Countdown Project, Diesel, Kylie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I wish I had four dogs to call my own, but Oscar’s content being the only dog in my life. Candid shots are probably the best images we can capture, but our pets make it so hard when they move whenever we pick up the camera!

    • Judging by your photos, it looks like Oscar more than loves his life! Evee was happy being the only dog in the house for over 8 years but also seems to enjoy the company of her furry brothers and sisters (Kylie and my parents’ Bichon, Callie). And I agree, candid shots are perfect in the sense that they really capture the moment … but you’re right, our pets know when we’re trying to take a picture and sometimes they are not the most cooperative. Even when my pups are sleeping, they wake up when I whip out the camera!

  2. Cute photo. (I get a lot of shots of Patty with her tongue sticking out — never planned, just turns out that way…) LOL… The weather here in AZ has been great lately too — 70’s, 80’s. Great for hiking the trails with Miss Patty O.

    • Thanks! I love it when dogs smile and stick their tongues out – those pictures always make me smile. And Arizona is beautiful – I’m glad that you and Miss Patty have been enjoying the lovely spring weather!

  3. Meant to have my “Cornville Surf-n-Swap” hat on with my last post… Had to log in to get the “Like” button to work.

  4. Love it! Let’s play ball!! I’d be right there.

  5. That is such a beautiful photo, all 3 of them look very happy. I’ve still got a bit of catching up to do with your blog, so I didn’t know what all your dogs looked like. They’re gorgeous have the most beautiful markings. x

  6. That is a great picture. They all look like they are having fun!

  7. Great photo – and I love that you added a bit about their personalities, too. I’m new to your blog and this photo was even better knowing that Bailey is the patriarch. 🙂

    • Thanks! I am so glad that you are following my blog. 🙂 And Bailey is definitely the patriarchal leader of the pack – he always looks out for the others.

  8. Great photo! Boy, do they ever look happy! 🙂

  9. I think one of the things my dog misses the most moving out of North America is the vast amount of available outdoor space. I wish there are just more vast space for him to run around in HK. Everytime we head down to the park, he’ll be like a supercharged energizer bunny

Leave a Reply

