26 Days: Agility Fun!

We love agility!

Today we had an agility lesson with all 4 dogs (yes, our agility instructor is brave).  The dogs did great – Diesel is so close to having his weave poles down pat, Evee is flying through courses, Bailey is getting better with tough obstacle discriminations, and Kylie is starting to find focus and control (she gives everything her all, including great speed!).  All in all, the dogs always have a blast playing agility and it keeps them happy and healthy, both physically and mentally.

And here are some bonus pictures from today’s lesson.  This is the main reason that I am hoping to upgrade to a DSLR camera – I love taking action shots of my active pups!  🙂

Diesel

Evee

Bailey

Kylie






About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Agility, Bailey, Countdown Project, Diesel, Evee, Kylie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Great photos and such a great place to do agility! Bailey is jealous! Living in the city, our agility training is in an indoor facility and its not the biggest. Bailey would LOVE to run around on a course that big!

    • Thanks, Kristen! We take lessons at our instructor’s house – she has a regulation-sized course right in her backyard (she basically has my dream house haha). I guess that’s one of the big pluses of being out in the country. And I am sure Bailey (your Bailey lol) would go nuts on a full-size course with every obstacle available 🙂

  2. Wow, looks like a gorgeous day for the athletes and their human friends!

  3. I think you’ll have a lot of fun experimenting with a DSLR, if you ever decide to upgrade. But, your pictures look amazing as it is with the current camera you’re using. Seeing your lovelies having their agility lesson is making me think seriously about signing Maple up for it, too!

    • I am steadily saving up for a DSLR camera – action shots are my favorite and with 4 active pups, I take a lot of them! I can’t wait until I am able to afford one. In the meantime, my trusty little Nikon point-and-shoot will have to do (and I appreciate the kind words about the photos that I am able to get with it!).

      I would definitely try agility with Maple – even if you never plan on competing, agility is such a fun activity that stimulates the body and mind, as well as builds a solid relationship with your dog. I bet she (and you) will love it! 🙂

  4. That lush green grass is just gorgeous! Looks like a perfect venue and day for all the pups to have a fabulous time!

    • One of my favorite things about spring … the green grass returns! And the dogs definitely love the spring grass as well – they won’t stop rolling around in it! 🙂

  5. Agility always looks so fun and I definately prefer the outdoor setting. I am thinking of organizing an agility 101 event for my meetup group of doxies so we can all try it.

    • It is definitely a very fun, enjoyable sport. We enjoy it as much as the dogs do! You should definitely try and set up an agility doxie event … and take lots of pictures! 🙂

  6. Toki LOVES agility, but we only have indoor facilities. It’s fun – but your course looks awesome! If I brought Toki to this place, she might just forget about the obstacles and roll around in the grass.

    • Our guys have definitely tried to run zoomies more than once in the big hayfield behind the agility course … The thought of running through that lush grass must be pretty tempting!

  7. I agree with Happy.Bark.Days – your photos are great! But I know all about the DSLR itch. I was so anxious to get mine, but it’s taken me ages to figure out how to use it!

    We would love to try agility with Gus. It looks like so much fun and I bet your furry ones are EXHAUSTED afterwards!

    • Thank you! I really appreciate it. And yes, I am definitely feeling the DSLR itch!

      I hope that you get to try agility with Gus – I bet he’ll have so much fun playing. And while you’d think they would be tired, Kylie and Diesel rarely run out of energy (if ever, unfortunately haha)!

  8. We love to watch talented agility dogs. So much training involved in agility. Your pictures are amazing and the dogs look amazing running that course!

    • There is definitely training involved, including training for me, the handler! I am still learning how to be more accurate with my body language and determine the best way to handle the course. Thank you for the kind words – I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

