33 Days: “Where flowers bloom, so does hope.”

My best girlie.

Evee is such a good girl.  She’s the dog that I always let children pet, the dog that will happily lay next to an elderly person for hours, the dog that knows no strangers in life.  It’s because of this, her goodness, that I’ve dreamed of starting my own animal-based therapy practice.  Research has shown that pets bring about all sorts of health benefits, from improving our mood and reducing our stress to controlling our blood pressure better than medications can.  Dogs are almost magical healers – I’ve witnessed typically nonsocial children verbalize and patients with memory disorders put some pieces of the puzzle back together, all after petting a dog.  I took this picture of Evee today while she was sunning herself out in the front yard.  The daffodils were blooming, the birds were singing, the sun was shining – what a beautiful day!  As I look at this picture and reflect on Evee’s therapy dog experiences, I recognize something that she has given every person that she has met – hope.  Hope for a better today, a better tomorrow, a better future.  Evee reminds me to follow my dreams, soak in the sun, stop to smell the flowers, and above all, never let go of hope.

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Countdown Project, Evee and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Love the quote! Where flowers bloom so does hope 🙂 What a senior sweetie. Here’s to a long and healthy life for your Evee.

  2. The dog is very cute. I also want to raise one 🙂

  3. Dogs are so loving and giving. They are truly a shining example of hope!

  4. I’m inspired by your dream of getting involved with a therapy dog program. Please keep us posted on what you do! Evee does look very caring and giving, a wonderful combination to support others in need.

    • I will definitely keep you posted! I truly believe that animal-based therapy can be more effective at times than some forms of modern medicine. Hopefully my dream practice will become a reality in the future!

Leave a Reply

