New Photo Project: Countdown to Graduation

I decided to start a little photo project based off of the 365 days or 52 weeks idea.  On May 14, I’m graduating from college!  Even though it seems like I have waited forever for this day, it’s now right around the corner.  So with that being said, I’m going to do a photo countdown to graduation day.  Today marks 35 days – I can’t believe it!

"Yes, I want my frisbee!!!"

Diesel is a smart boy – he can answer the question, “Do you want it?” by barking in my face.  (Intelligent?  Yes.  Annoying?  Just slightly.)  When I look at this picture, it’s easy to see what Diesel wants.  But this picture also makes me think about what I want – a future, a plan, a goal.  Yesterday I received my first grad school acceptance – I got into UT (*GO VOLS!*).  I am very excited about this potential program and I have always felt like I belong in Tennessee.  The scary part about graduating is facing the unknown … When you graduate high school, you leave behind everything that you knew and loved for 18 years.  But when you graduate college, you’re suddenly thrust into the real world, expected to finally grow up and get it together.  I hope that this photo project will help me reflect on where I’ve been but also help me focus on where I’m going.  I’m excited to see what the future has in store for me!

About Kas

An occupational therapy graduate student, Virginia Tech alumna, positive-reinforcement trainer, and proud mum of 5 crazy canines.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Countdown Project, Diesel, Frisbee Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the countdown to graduation.. or rather the latter really. I have an associates but then figured it was best to find a back door into what I wanted to do (ie; train.. thus train under someone) with what I do experience really should speak the loudest anyway. And to be honest I don’t miss school. So good for you staying motivated and going to grad school even.

    Cute pic too, Luna does the same thing. It was cute when she was little.. but as she grew up she got closer to the ears and her bark got louder… so it’s not usually cute anymore, but I still get her to do it. 😉
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • Believe me, I definitely have a severe case of “senioritis”! I am not 100% set on going to grad school – I’ve also been applying to jobs anywhere and everywhere but unfortunately it’s such a bad time to try and enter the workforce with the economy the way it is.

      That’s neat that Luna does the same thing and “talks back” haha. And that’s also the case with Diesel – it was cute when he was a little squirt but now it is not so much! 😛

  2. I just realized you are using the same font for “Kas” as I am for “KB” in our watermarks. Copy cat 😛 haha

    I Love that photo of Diesel and I look forward to seeing more pictures from your countdown 🙂

    • Haha really??? I think it’s called “Bleeding Cowboys” or something to that effect? I use Picnik to edit all of my photos and that’s always been a favorite font of mine. Now that I look at your pictures, the “K” is the same! Oops … Sorry, Kristen! I guess great “K” minds think alike 😛

      • Haha Yup “Bleeding Cowboys” is the name. It’s not a big deal 😛 I just thought it was a funny coincidence 🙂

      • yeah that watermark thing threw me off at first as I read both your blogs.. though someone had an alias or something for a second.

      • Yea, it’s quite a coincidence! I always used “Bleeding Cowboys” for my horse pictures (which I have moved away from for the time being) and wanted to use that font for my watermark since it’s been one of my favorites. And while I follow Kristen’s photos daily, I didn’t even notice that it was the same font until Kristen pointed it out. And to make it even weirder, Kristen and I both have blonde, male, 3-year-old dogs named Bailey … 😯

      • and both our white fluffy dogs do agility 😛

      • … We welcome you to the Twilight Zone.

  3. Book marked, I love your blog! 🙂

  4. I’m new to your blog and loving all the photos of your furry loved ones. Congrats on the upcoming graduation!

  5. Hi! I came across your blog via others that I read. I love the pics and your cute pups. Good luck with your project, and I look forward to reading more!

    – Christine @ Thedailytoki.com

  6. I’m loving your countdown to graduation photo project—what a great idea. And, congrats on your acceptance to grad school. I think you’ll enjoy it (I certainly did… and still am! LOL…) 😀

    • Thanks!! I look forward to composing it each day and it has been helping me keep focus on what’s ahead. And thank you – I am excited about taking my education/career to the next level. I’m glad that you enjoy(ed) grad school 🙂

Leave a Reply

